Comfort food Spotlight: Stuffed Chicken

stuffed

Hello all and welcome back! I once again apologize for the drought in content as I’ve been trying to finish up this very tough semester. Fret not though, I promise to have several posts this week to make up for it. One of them will even be a review for a local food truck that has amazing food!

This recipe is for my signature stuffed chicken and is the first one that I developed completely on my own. I made it for my family and friends a few times and received great reviews all around, so I thought I’d share it with you all!

The recipe is fairly simple and straightforward and just has the extra step of making the stuffing and putting it inside your chicken, otherwise it’s as easy as cooking a regular chicken breast in the oven. I don’t know the exact calorie count for this recipe, but if you’re watching what you eat then this may not be the best choice haha.

Ingredients


  • 1-2 chicken breasts
  • 1 cup softened cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese
  • 3 slices bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 fresh jalapeno chopped
  • 3-6 skewers, long toothpicks, or cooking string

Like I said, this is a fairly simple and straightforward recipe that doesn’t require many ingredients or a blow to the wallet.

Preparation


You’ll want to start by assembling the stuffing mixture. Make sure the cream cheese has been softened so it will mix easier. Add cream cheese, shredded cheese, diced jalepeno, and chopped bacon into large mixing bowl. Use fork to mix all contents together and set aside.

Prepare the chicken breast by seasoning lightly with salt and pepper. Use a knife to cut a slit into the least fatty side of the chicken, but make sure not to go all the way through. If your chicken breast is too thick, you can tenderize the meat by covering it in cellophane and pounding it with a tenderizer or other heavy kitchen object.

Once the chicken breasts are prepared, use the fork to insert a generous amount of stuffing inside the chicken. Be careful not to overstuff or you run the risk of the delicious mixture seeping out the sides during cooking.

The complicated part comes in securing the chicken for cooking. I’ve used cooking string to wrap around the chicken breast and that works very well. The most recent attempt at making this recipe I used skewers to close up the sides of the chicken, but I feel that more of the mixture seeped out during cooking as opposed to when I’ve used string. It’s ultimately your decision as both work well.

Cooking


Begin by preheating your oven to 350 degrees. Put a sheet of foil down on any basic cooking sheet and place the chicken breasts on said sheet.

Insert the stuffed chicken into the oven and let cook for 30 minutes. Make sure to check the oven about half-way through to make sure everything is going as planned. Once the chicken has cooked fully make sure to test with a thermometer and use your best judgement before eating.

The jalapenos do not add too much heat as long as you remove most seeds, but they add an interesting level of flavor that I think really pulls the dish together. I’ve thought about making a sauce to go on top of the chicken, but I’ve found that using a little bit of the stuffing mixture on top is just as good, and the chicken should be juicy enough that a sauce isn’t really needed. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

